Creative Roundup ~ Aug. 2017

A lot can happen in six months. And real life is sometimes stranger than fiction. At the end of February, I gave myself a concussion. The very next day, I was accidentally kneed in the eye. Making it not one concussion but two, back to back. After a trip to the emergency room and a visit to a deranged doctor, sleeping was about the only thing I did well. I did it for weeks while my family picked up all the pieces around me. I lost all of March and most of April. It wasn’t until June (“May, why you do that weird, funky time thing?”) that I crawled out from under the covers. About the only creative things that came out of it were “Underground Concussion”, a last ditch attempt to help those around me understand my current state of mental being, and “Instant Stupidity, Just Add Snacks”, a fictional look at my glitched recovery. I was told a full recovery could take up to a year. I scoffed. Now I believe it. It doesn’t take me as long as it used to to come up with the right words. Putting together whole sentences without losing track half way through was once my goal. I can drive, cook, talk, write, and work again. I get tired easily and many activities still have a higher than normal price tag but progress is progress and I’m thankful for it.

My photo project “2017 in pictures” is marching right along. I learn something new there all the time.

I’m currently half way through “Faceless Killers” by Henning Mankell, the first in the Kurt Wallander Mystery. I’ve got three or four more waiting in the wings. Once “Lost Souls” arrives though, I’m going to take a break from anything and everything to read that.

In the writing department, I’m working on “Tears of Ink”, an original murder mystery. Also working on a detective story with different characters set in my own neck of the woods. That one doesn’t have a title (or much of a plot) at this point. Cleaned up and finished one or two draft copies I didn’t realize I had sitting around. Having the new computer really helps. It doesn’t take a day and half to open a word document anymore. Yay!

Leave a comment